Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

A place for women of God who seek to live for Him in every aspect of life, with a touch of 50s!

A True Homemaker - Part II - Getting Organized

A True Homemaker - Part II - Getting Organized

UPDATE! I am using a completely different planner now (2021). I'll be updating everyone on that soon πŸ˜„

A True Homemaker Part II – Getting Organized

In the first part of this series, I talked about how important it is to honor God in all you do – including homemaking. When God is blessing what you are doing, it’s crazy how much more you enjoy it. Now let’s jump into some ideas that will help you be the best homemaker you can be!

Planners Are a Girl’s Best Friend

In this age of digital diaries and ringing reminders, I am still an old-fashioned paper and pen kind of girl. There is just something about crossing it off the list or checking it off the box that gives me a sense of satisfaction. My personal preference is the Erin Condren Life Planner. You can check out her stuff here. It’s a bit on the pricy side, but there are some things I don’t skimp on, and being organized is one of them. If you’re more of a list kind of gal, pick yourself up a spiral notebook at your local Target and get to writing! Don’t worry, I’m not going to forget about those of you who have actually stepped forward in time and are using technology. Phones, watches, digital planners – they are all wonderful! I do use my phone for ongoing appointments and set the address so I’m notified when it’s time to leave. I am living in the present! Whatever you choose to do, paper or digital, the important thing is to use it.

Once you decide how you are going to organize your life, set aside time each day to check in. It serves no purpose to write down that you have to pay your electric bill if you don’t actually pay your bill. (More on bill paying later). What are you going to use your planner for? Devotions, family appointments, daily chores, weekly meetings, church groups, coffee with the girls - I could go on and on! Once you commit to using it, stick to it. You will be amazed at much clearer your mind is when you are not constantly asking yourself, “Now what was I supposed to do?” Admit it, we’ve all been there!

Each morning, preferably after your morning time with God, open up your planner (again, paper or digital), and get an overview of your day. Do it in the evenings for the next day if that is easier for you. This will also remind you to pack lunch for the field trip, wrap the gift you’re bringing, or bake those cookies. I also keep mine out so if my husband wants to know what I have planned for the day, all he has to do is look. I’m not sure this is necessary since he ends up asking, but one day…

A True Homemaker - Part II - Getting Organized

Where in the Kitchen!?

I believe I should be able to walk into anyone’s kitchen and find whatever I need. Yet I have been to people’s houses who keep pot holders next to the refrigerator (no, the oven isn’t there), plates in lower cabinets, and spices next to the sink. I’d like to point out that these kitchens had more than enough room so I was baffled.

Your kitchen is your haven and you spend a lot of time there, so it should be functional. Pulling open multiple drawers to find something and having to take extra steps to put it away is not functional, it’s a waste of time. You’ve heard the expression “a place for everything and everything in its place”, right? It should say “and everything in its right place”, as in its appropriate place. Are your spatulas in a drawer near the sink, instead of the stove? Do you serve food at the table or prepare plates at your counter tops? If it is the latter, are your dishes near the refrigerator instead of the stove or oven? Here’s a simple test: stand at each key point in your kitchen and within a step or two (no giant leaping!) get anything you might need to continue working in that area. For example, stand at your stove and get the following: a pot with its lid, a wooden spoon, a pot holder, salt, pepper, and a plate. Next, go to your refrigerator and get a glass (tip: keep glasses in the freezer – milk tastes great in cold glasses). That one is a little easier, but you get my point.

A True Homemaker - Part II - Getting Organized

Pay Those Bills

All households are different; the husbands handle the money in some and the wives in others. There is no wrong or right here – you just do what works for you. Regardless of who handles the money, it can be a hassle if you aren’t, say it with me, “organized!” There is nothing worse than forgetting to pay a bill. It happens to the best of us, but in this day of technology (I’m not a paper girl in all things!) there’s no excuse. My personal favorite is Prism. It’s a free app and the two guys who started it are fantastic. Prism is connected with tons of everyday billers, e.g. cable companies, phone companies, credit cards, etc. You connect your bill on the app and you get a reminder when it’s due. You can also set the reminder for up to three weeks ahead so you never have to worry. If you’re set up on automatic payment, it reflects that on Prism. You can also pay the bill through Prism and you get a confirmation number which is generated by your debtor. How cool is that! You can read about them here and download it on your device.

In closing…

These are just a few of the many ways we women need to stay organized. Please comment with some other ways you are struggling and I’ll respond with some insight.

Blessings to you all!

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post